• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Roggz

Roggz

Glass Joe

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 September 2010 - 06:39 PM

I am a graduate student working on a open, programmable, scalable, secure, and extensible virtual environment called Meru.

One aspect of this virtual environment is application-level messaging. Users can create objects in our world, and these objects can communicate with each other. As part of our research, we'd like to collect some data from a real virtual world like World of Warcraft.

This is where you come in. If you are willing to help us out, I have written an AddOn for WoW called AppMsgLogger. This AddOn collects three pieces of information:

• A timestamp every time you log in or log out
  • For every addon message you receive (the CHAT_MSG_ADDON event), a timestamp, the zone you are in, the channel it was received on (PARTY, GUILD, RAID, etc), and the length of the message in bytes
  • A list of the AddOns you are running
No personal or identifying information is collected.

An explanation of why we want to collect each piece of information:
  • is just so I can know how long the addon was running for.
  • is what we're really interested in. It allows us to model what
    application messaging looks like in a virtual world. We can calculate
    things like how many bytes/second the average player receives in
    application messages, what application message traffic looks like
    based on what type of activity the user is doing (pvp, pve, city,
    etc), or a breakdown of which channels applications are using for
    their messages.
  • is just so we can tell which messages are actually being received.
    If anyone in your guild/party/raid has an addon that sends a message,
    you receive it regardless of whether you're even running that addon
    which receives the message.

So you know I'm legit,
Here's me: Jeff Terrace
Here's the project: SING: Meru Virtual World Architecture