• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Moogul

Moogul

___facing so hard right now

• Members
  • 4,173 posts

Posted 21 December 2007 - 11:46 AM

For a while now, I've been interested in trying my hand at building some WoW addons - both small trinkets for myself, and some larger more useful ones. I'm a programmer by trade, with experience in a variety of languages (though not Lua), and I've also used XML enough to know my way around it, so in theory I have the skills required to do it.

However, even though I can look at some decent Lua tutorials and pick it up very quickly, and whenever I open the source of some of the Mods I have, I can pretty quickly understand all the various functions in them, I find that I don't yet have the understanding to actually build a (sizable) mod from scratch. I've built a couple of test addons from some tutorials, but they seem to be on the level of 'hello world', which is pretty big leap from things that actually need to do substantial I/O, event handling, etc.

Now the point is, I know the theory behind all of this, what I need to know is the WoW specific bits. How exactly should I go about designing and implementing a prototype for a WoW Addon? Obviously the xml stores the data and the lua stores the code, but how should I go about structuring them? Any advice on which event handlers I should use for initialising data and such, any good tutorials for using saved variables, etc.

The other thing is the WoW interface API, is there a well documented version of the API somewhere? I've found some of it on WoWWiki, but it doesn't seem that complete. A good reference would really help. There are a lot of standard things in the WoW interface that I don't know how to do (ie. dragging spells to action buttons - sure I can create a button, but how do I change the action that the button is linked to? Are there onDrag event handlers or such? Can I then get the spell being dragged based on the event properties?)