69 replies to this topic

#1 Liandra

Liandra

Piston Honda

• Members
  • 219 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 01:50 AM

Hey guys,

over the past few days we've had some discussion about Druid tanks vs Warrior tanks in our guild. We have been progressing nicely in BWL recently (no guides, all self-taught) and are up to Ebonroc now. We don't always have enough Warriors, so sometimes a Druid appears in the MT list.

This raises some interesting questions, like:

* How exactly do you compare a Prot Warrior to a Feral Druid?
* Can a Druid be used to tank Vaelastrasz?
* How much does a Druid lose by not having a Shield and Parry?

We have not really been able to find any good stats about this. There is some addon called TankPoints which supposedly shows how 'good' a Tank is, but I have no idea how trustworthy those numbers are.

Do you have any experience in this? Could anyone shed some light on this in a more mathematical or game mechanical way than "omg droods suck use prot tanks kthx"?

With great power comes great responsibility.

#2 Elerion

Elerion

Great Tiger

• Members
  • 861 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 01:53 AM

At 6pm today, 13 our 30 online members were warriors. One was a druid. We don't have this issue. :)

#3 Hanny

Hanny

Von Kaiser

• Allied Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 02:08 AM

Warriors are the best tanks period, I've only ever seen druids emergency tank mobs in mc so im not sure how they would hold out through some duration fights...

#4 XI-

XI-

Does Not Play Well With Others.

• Allied Members
  • 9650 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 02:17 AM

No druids are not comparable to warriors. They aren't itemized for it, and they lack parry and block.

in before JOHN FUCKING MADDEN

#5 Praetorian

Praetorian

Mike Tyson

• ♦ Administrators
  • 27807 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 02:32 AM

Check out this thread:

http://forums.worldo...mp=1#post693704

#6 Lord BEEF

Lord BEEF

Soda Popinski

• Guild Members
  • 3826 posts