• Please log in to reply
362 replies to this topic

#1 Runnybabbit

Runnybabbit

Piston Honda

• Members
  • 210 posts

Posted 01 March 2006 - 01:15 AM

Per the suggestion of Chupid, starting this thread to consolidate all the various Feral hijacks (assuming they aren't tapped out by now) to prevent clutter of other discussions. And give XI a target-rich environment for AoE flaming. I kid.

Anyway, to get the ball rolling...my guild has been farming BWL for a few weeks now, and some of the druids (myself not included) are getting antsy about speccing out of heavy Resto builds. There's some tension about this since we are just getting started in AQ (eff you, low pop server) and two of our best-geared priests just quit. I am trying to assemble some ammunition to argue on behalf of our druids who are keen on Feral builds, but I have limited experience with Feral specs in general and zero experience playing them in a raid setting. Obviously, this makes me a suboptimal advocate.

I know properly geared Feral druids can acquit themselves admirably when called upon for tanking or DPS. However, the knock on druids has always been that the niche classes (warriors and rogues in this case) are better suited for those roles, so why dick around with Feral druids if you're really focused on PvE progression. This argument sits better with some than others, but I'm willing to concede that point. What I'm more interested in is how Feral druids contribute to a raid in ways that warriors and rogues can't. Do they? And, more importantly, can they do so consistently? Anecdotal "I saved the raid once" stories aren't opinion changers. I want to hear about the unique things you bring to the table each and every time you raid.

#2 Elerion

Elerion

Great Tiger

• Members
  • 861 posts

Posted 01 March 2006 - 01:35 AM