11 replies to this topic

#1 Minotas

Minotas

Von Kaiser

• Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 04 August 2006 - 06:59 PM

Greetings,

Long time reader, first time poster. I have a question for everyone who haunts this forum; specifically, those of you who analyze combat logs and draw conclusions regarding the tactics to be used in a given fight based on your findings. That is; what do you use to parse your combat logs? Is there functionality in plain-vanilla wow to do this? Would I have to install a standalone mod for this functionality?

I'm looking for something that can look at my damage dealt/taken and return various figures derived from that; percentages of physical damage and specific elemental damage as a portion of total damage, for example. To be honest, though, I'm a total noob when it comes to this.

I'm not a big fan of using canned strats and I think that learning how to effectively analyze and interpret what shows up in my combat log could go a long way toward enabling me to start to analyze some of these encounters myself. I'm thinking this could really help my (or any) guild when the expansion hits, and the strats aren't so readily available for a while.

Anyway, any help, advice, pointers or tidbits of information would be greatly appreciated.

One other thing; I just want to thank Gurg, Kaubel and everyone else who keeps this forum moderated and available. EJ forums are a wealth of great information (much the opposite of Blizz forums), and I find myself posting links here on my own guild website very often. Keep up the good work!

#2 Drauk

Drauk

Bald Bull

• Members
  • 1689 posts

Posted 04 August 2006 - 07:04 PM

Is there functionality in plain-vanilla wow to do this?

Only vanilla functionality is /combatlog command. It writes a log into a file.